About us

Women Writing Mystery: Inaugural Lecture with J.A. Jance

Date: March 13, 2011

Times: 2:30 pm - 3:30 pm

Location:   Grand Ballroom, Student Union Memorial Center

Contact: VerĂ³nica Reyes-Escudero


Special Collections to host bestselling author J.A. Jance at the 2011 Tucson Festival of Books

Special Collections’ “Women Writing Mystery” lecture series debuts at the 2011 Tucson Festival of Books with J.A. Jance, the top-10 New York Times bestselling author of the J.P. Beaumont series, the Joanna Brady series, the Ali Reynolds series, three interrelated thrillers featuring the Walker family and a book of poetry.

This exciting lecture series, to be held each year at the Tucson Festival of Books, highlights the Women Mystery Writers Collection housed in Special Collections. The Women Mystery Writers Collection has a primary emphasis on Southwestern women mystery authors and includes mystery novels published from the 1950s to present written by female authors who primarily portray female protagonists. Also collected are papers and manuscripts of Southwestern women mystery authors, including the papers of bestselling author J.A. Jance. With more than 1,400 volumes, the collection serves an interdisciplinary audience conducting research in the areas of literature, creative writing, cultural studies, and women’s studies.

For more information about "Women Writing Mystery" or the Women Mystery Writers Collection please contact Verónica Reyes-Escudero at (520) 307-2774 or reyesv@u.library.arizona.edu

Related coverage:

AZ Daily Star | Jance overcame a lot to build career as novelist